APS Achievements

APS is the proud winner of the Wiltshire Memorial cup for 2017.  Congratulations to the authors of the four images put forward.

They were: 

Karen Lawton for her image 'Balance'

Lynn Clayton for her image 'Parnell Pools'

Roy Cernohorsky for his image 'Sands of time'

Heather Saint for her image 'Turning the page'

Well done to all 


Congratulations to Sarah Caldwell for her success in the prestigious VIPA 2016 competition. Sarah won the Architecture Category with her image 'Natural History Museum' 

The prize consisted of a handsome cash award , a 2 week exhibition in Bulgaria and returns tickets to Sofia for the awards night and workshop day. This image has also recently appeared in the January edition of the New Zealand D-Photo magazine. Well done Sarah.


Congratulations to Rachel Spillane for her winning portfolio submitted to the judges for the 2016 NZ Fashion week photographic competition

'And the winner of the NZFW Photography Competition..... Rachel Spillane !! We're very proud of Rachel, and we're stoked that she now joins us for Spring Break School all week !! (image supplied by Rachel Spillane for NZFW 2016)'

I think it is awesome that APS members did so well this year in the North Shore Salon. I haven't got the stats to confirm, but would believe these are the best results the club has ever achieved. Lynn Clayton and Heather Saint both achieved silver medals, and Karin Charteris a bronze. Howard Jack received an Honours, and there were a number of Highly Commendeds - Lynn Clayton, Lynda Leng, Roy Cernohorsky, Bryan Lay Yee, Liz Hardley, with acceptances by Sarah Caldwell, Karin Charteris, Liz Hardley, Karen Lawton, Lynda Leng, Beverly Winstone, Joan Caulfield, Roy Cernohorsky, Howard Jack, Karin Charteris, Vipul, Howard Jack, Heather Saint, Sandrina Huish, Bryan Lay Yee, Lynn Clayton, and Dave O'Leary. Most of these people received several awards, and the club was represented in all sections of the Salon. Apologies if I have missed anyone's name. 

Congratulations to Evarist DeSouza and Liz Hardley on making the final of the Auckland Festival of Photography Auckland Day shoot out 2016.

Also Congratulations to Rachel Spillane, Roy Cernohorsky, Tony Gorham, and Evarist DeSouza who had images selected. Apologies if I have missed anyone 

Congratulations to the following APS members who have images published in the forthcoming New Zealand Camera 2016: Susan Blick, Roy Cernohorsky, Brian Cudby, Lezanne Gibbs, Liz Hardley, Dave O'Leary, and John Woods. Apologies if I have missed anyone.